Japanese 日本語

井の中の蛙大海を知らず。

A frog in a well does not know the great sea.

This Japanese proverb means that if one is narrow-minded, one will not know of the bigger picture. This quote embodies my experience with Japanese language learning. Before I started learning Japanese, I knew nothing more than my own culture. Through the process of learning a second language, my world view was broadened and I came to better understand my own languages and culture. This ideal is what I hope to inspire in my students through Japanese language teaching.

Leave a Reply

